Undergraduate Awards Announcement

This year's undergraduate award winners were announced in May and presented with their awards at our annual Senior Luncheon and Awards Ceremony on June 15, 2016 at the John Evans Alumni Center.

Megan Pan and Isabel Fan shared the Herder Prize for the best paper written by a student in an introductory philosophy course. Pan's paper was titled "Kant's Philosophy of History through the Lens of De Beauvoir's *Moral Idealism and Political Realism*" and Fan's "The Duhem-Quine Paradox of Scientific Knowledge." Ekin Zeytinoglu received the Brentano Prize for the best paper written in an upper-level philosophy course for "Understanding the Range and Importance of Rectifications for Nozick."

Elena Barham won the David Hull Prize for best senior thesis for "Thank you for Playing: A Rational Choice Theory of Friendship". She also received Honors with Distinction for this thesis.

Ken-Terika Zellner also received Honors with Distinction for "Male Sex Right and the Fraternal Social Contract: An Analysis of Political Membership in Locke's *Second Treatise of Government*."

Matthew Ferro and Chuyu Tian received Honors in Philosophy, for successfully completing honors requirements. Ferro's thesis is titled "Understanding Rationality in the Presence of Time Bounds" and Tian's "Moral Community in the Ethics of Aristotle and Confucius."

Chuyu Tian also received this year's Stephen Toulmin Prize for the best GPA in philosophy (in combination with the most credits and superior overall academic achievement) for a graduating philosophy major.

Ken-Terika Zellner won the Lula A. Peterson Prize for exemplary citizenship. Zellner was recognized for her untiring, exemplary, exceptionally effective leadership in the organization of the undergraduate-led workshop in Critical Theory and continuous energetic engagement on behalf of the students' interests in the College and at the department as Senior Student Advisory Board Representative.

Sophie Brauer and Swasti Bajoria received the Ruth Barcan Marcus Award for tutoring in formal logic.

Acknowledged by the department as honorable mention for creative and substantive work in the honors program is Jonathan Kramer-Roach, author of the thesis, "Education as Dynamism."